The Mystery of The Eastward-Facing Cannon

I know I haven’t exactly been on my blogging game as of late. To be honest, between work and an increased load of classes I just haven’t been able to muster the time or energy to write anything worthwhile about Arsenal lately. That being said, I have noticed something over the past couple of weeks that has puzzled me to the point of compelling me to write.

This puzzle is as follows: what’s the deal with Arsenal’s cup kit numbers, and why do they sometimes feature an eastward-facing cannon detail, but other times they do not?

In the recent Champions League match away to Montpellier, Arsenal wore their traditional red over white kits, and for the first time in competitive play featured their new cup name and number font (seen to the left).

In case some of you aren’t as much of a kit nerd as I, the kit name and number font for at least the past two seasons (I don’t recall if it goes back further than the 2010/11 season) formerly featured all lower-case letters and somewhat curvy numbers (as seen below).

Well, this year things have changed; the font is more blocky, which is fine that’s not the problem. The problem is that against Montpellier, the new numbers were plain white, but in the home League Cup match to Coventry City, the numbers featured a small eastward-facing cannon detail at the bottom (as seen below).

Now my question is this: why was there no cannon detail in the Champions League match? The kit they were wearing was exactly the same (with the exception of the special patches worn during Champions League play) and the number font was exactly the same, so why the inconsistency?

At first I wondered if perhaps UEFA has some asinine rule about no graphic details inside numbers during European play, but if you look at the pictures from the Chelsea-Juvuntus match from this year’s Champions League, Chelsea’s kit numbers clearly feature a Chelsea crest detail at the bottom (as seen below).

Just out of curiosity, I also looked at pictures from the recent Chelsea-Wolves League Cup match, and that only served to make me more confused. In their League Cup match, Chelsea wore their Premier League font names and numbers on the back of their kits (as seen below). Now I’m totally befuddled; why would some teams wear cup fonts in the League Cup while others wear their Premier League font (and Patches to boot, in the case of Chelsea!)?

Unfortunately, I have no answers for you, except for to say that there appears to be little to no regulation of what kinds of name and number fonts are worn in different cup competitions. If anyone who reads this has an actual answer to any of these questions, please let me know in the comments section.

Leave a Reply

