Reassessing the 2011/12 Gunners After Arsenal 3-1 Stoke City

Jamie McDonald / Getty Images

The Stoke City match wasn’t on live in my parts of the States, and didn’t show until 7:00 pm Monday night my time, so I feel like a traditional match reflection would be pretty worthless because of the timing. That being the case, I’m going to forego the match reflection and instead take a minute to ask (and answer) a few questions, and in so doing maybe reassess my expectations for this year’s version of The Arsenal.

Was the Stoke City match Gervinho’s breakout performance?

Arsenal supporters have been waiting all season for Gervinho to start producing goals consistently, and boy did he do that against Stoke on Sunday. Gervinho not only scored the opening goal, but he created both of van Persie’s late goals. Gervinho has consistently looked dangerous in his time with Arsenal, but that has not translated into goals as much as was expected. I look for his performance against Stoke to be a real confidence-builder for Gervinho, and will propel him into a consistently productive player for the Gunners.

Is Arshavin best suited coming off the bench?

The much-maligned Russian has struggled in his starts this season, but has been looked much better the last couple of times he came off the bench. I look for this to continue, with Walcott & Gervinho getting more of the starts, with Arshavin coming off the bench.

Can anyone stop Robin van Persie?

No.

How soon will Man City and/or Barcelona start tapping up our new captain, promising to double his wages?

If we all agree to not talk about it, and not even think about it, it won’t happen… right? (read as: soon)

Is Koscielny’s good form of late sustainable?

If I knew, I’d be more than just a want-to-be blogger in middle America. Let’s hope the answer is “yes.” It doesn’t hurt that Mertesacker appears to be settling in to the English game, but has his improved form raised Koscielny’s play, or vice-versa? Chicken and egg, my friends.

Will we ever see Park Chu-Young?

I would love to know what the deal with Park is. Chamakh hasn’t impressed in his last couple of chances, so it baffles me that Park has remained on the bench in all except Carling Cup matches. I thought this guy was supposed to be ready to step right into the squad. I would love to know what Arsene and his staff candidly thinks about Park’s skill. Is he not living up to what they expected from him?

Why can’t Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain crack the squad?

It’s not like Walcott has been setting the world on fire, surely there’s space for The OC to get into the squad. I don’t expect to see him in the Champions League, or against Chelsea this weekend, but with Premier League matches upcoming against West Brom, Norwich, Fulham, & Wigan, I’d be surprised not to see his name in the starting XI at least once during that four-match stretch.

With Liverpool stumbling, is 4th place back within reach?

I don’t see why not. Arsenal currently sit 7th in the table, and while I don’t think they’ll challenge the top 3, I do think Sp*rs, Liverpool, and certainly Newcastle will all falter enough for Arsenal to finish in the last Champions League spot as long as they don’t drop points in a bunch of matches they should win (you know, like the end of last season).

Leave a comment